Quintessentially Yours..

If I am not for myself, who will be for me? If I am only for myself, what am I? If not now, when?

Look who’s talking..

Disclaimer: This post is readable and enjoyable only if you are a Malayalee and are well-versed with the language. Please move onto the next or previous post if you aren’t one. 🙂

My baby, Du, is 26 months old now and he speaks wonderfully, (touchwood! ) in our mother tongue. He forms long sentences and uses complicated words as well. As accepted by most Indians, Malayalam is a very difficult language, to learn and master. And it is totally cute to hear those tongue-twisting words come out from a two-year-old’s mouth. 🙂

 

PicsArt_1403542886570

 

Here are some funny instances of his use of the language and words that he has made up to describe certain actions of his. Of course, these provide for our unlimited entertainment.  😛

1. Scene: Me serving icecream to Du in a small bowl. The icecream is rock hard and I fear him swallowing it all in one go. So I serve one spoon at a time, carefully mashing it and making it liquidy so that it doesn’t abuse his tonsils much.

Du to me: (Frustrated at not getting more than a spoonful at a time) “Amma, ichri ichiri alla; bhayankaraa ichiri venam!! ” 😀

Obviously, he meant he can handle more than a spoonful at a time. I chuckled at his usage of words. He still uses that, by the way. 😛

 

2. Scene: Lunch time. Du is picking up the jackfruit chips from my plate and munching them down, with total disregard for the rice. So I hide the chips under the rice, so that he eats a little rice and then I would let him take the chips. But you never can outsmart two-year olds!! 😀 So he digs the chips from under the rice in my plate and goes on munching. Left with no option, I gobble up the last few chips and am all determined to make him eat the rice.

Du to me: He sees me munching the last chip and exclaims “edaa, chuchithi raami” !!

We occasionally refer to him as ‘kusruthi rama’ when he is upto mischief. So he shot it back at me, with a little gender change, of course. 😛

 

3. Scene: At the parking lot of the hospital, where I go for my antenatal checkups. I am busy shoving Du’s bottle, snacks, my phone etc, into my bag. H is checking whether he has parked okay and Du is busy licking biscuit cream off his fingers.

H to me: (He’s already got off the car to pick Du from his babyseat and so calls out to me) “Ente phoneum specsum koodi edukkane”.

Du to me from his baby seat, following H’s tone in all innocence: “Dudunem koode edukkane”.

H and I looked at each other for a moment and burst out laughing. #Those moments when you wonder what you were really doing when you were creating such specimen!! 😀

 

4. Scene: Du is doing his potty. I am waiting for him to finish so that I can clean him up and then lie down to rest my aching back. I am impatient and ask him why he’s taking so long, on the impression that he’s playing with something and is distracted.

Du shouts to me: “Amma, shof tu wayt”. Puzzled me asks back- “what? What is that?” He repeats. And then it strikes me. You have to wait. Yes. I have to wait for the poor kid to finish his business. So much for repeating the same to him ‘n’ number of times a day. They pick up even the way you snort, I tell you. 😀 Shsshhshh….

 

5. Du has his own vocabulary of words for certain actions:

Pishkigaaa

 

PicsArt_1403716690208

 

The act of drawing your legs apart; as wide as you can. Particularly annoying when you are trying to put on Pampers active pants or a pair of shorts.

 

Jumpjaa

 

PicsArt_1403716749739

 

The act of cumulative jumping with an arm outstretched. (It is the ‘Kuthiravattom Pappu’ style of jumping/ dancing, if you know what I mean.)

 

Tanninay

 

PicsArt_1403716609920

 

The act of lying flat on your back on a person’s (especially grandmom, or pregnant mom) back, of course with that person crouching down.

 

Bidge up-up

It is actually bridge up-up, I guess. The act of rolling your toys on any upward slope, be it even the bridge of your nose!! :O (yea, he does that sometimes! I wonder why they make such small cars!! ) 😀

 

Reejo

I am yet to figure this out. But it is something related to the cupboard. 😛

 

These are the most recent ones. Of course there are those first baby words, which Du says clearly now, but me and H still say it the one-year old way, for the fun of it.

 

PicsArt_1403717027368

 

Sometimes, you just don’t want them to grow up. 🙂

 

 

5 comments on “Look who’s talking..

  1. R
    June 26, 2014

    Ha Ha Ha…..:D

  2. Ld
    June 26, 2014

    Ailailu du :*

  3. G
    June 26, 2014

    🙂

  4. Ar
    June 27, 2014

    Ha ha 😀
    Very cute. The last sentence is so true! 🙂

  5. J
    July 30, 2014

    Awwww duuuu! :* Loving Pishkigaaaa!
    Did you figure out what Reejo means?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2014 by in 2014 and tagged .

Categories